A Garden-Variety Puzzle

Grid: 16×15, Difficulty: Easy

[solve online][.puz version] [pdf version][solution]

How do I do this puzzle?

Crossword with clues

A green toad sitting on top of a lily pad but the lily pad is patterned to look like a crossword puzzle.

Constructor commentary (contains puzzle spoilers)

Hey! It’s been a while since I’ve posted a puzzle here, but I’m back! I’ve been spending most of my puzzle making time constructing medium size puzzles for AVCX because I’m part of this year’s lil AVCX roster! So if you’re interested in solving other puzzles by me and a bunch of other awesome constructors, go check out their website. I’ve also joined the roster of the USA Today crossword constructors. So look out for puzzles from me there.

Anyway, about this puzzle. This was part of a collection of 30 easy puzzles I made for made dad for his birthday, but I liked it enough that I wanted to share it here as well. I’ve edited the clues a bit to make the more applicable to a wider audience but the answers still skew towards his interests (hence multiple sports references in the puzzle).

Theme: The five longest across answers are idioms that end with a plant part. I came up with this theme idea a while ago, but I was never able to get a set of theme answers I was happy with. Eventually I thought of making it 16×15 (instead of the typical 15×15) and adding TURN OVER A NEW LEAF, which pulled the puzzle together. I also like the when read in order the theme answers seem to convey a plant going through its life cycle.

TOTE (6-Across: Type of bag that I have like 40 of even though I only ever use the same two) Seriously I have a giant pile of TOTE bags sitting on a shelf. I think I just kept accumulating them thinking it was sustainable because then I wouldn’t use plastic bags but I never need more then three bags at most.

DUA (24-Across: Singer who became an Albanian citizen in November 2022, __ Lipa) I haven’t listen to much Dua Lipa but I like her because I’m Albanian on my mom’s side.

MOE (33-Across: Angerme member Kamikokuryo) Angerme is a Japanese girl group of which MOE Kamikokuryo is member. I have never listened to Angerme but I thought this was a more fun clue than the three stooges guy (my clue in the version of the puzzle for my dad).

EAVE (33-Across: Gutter location) Eaves are the edge of the roof which overhang the face of a wall (i.e., where gutters are on a roof). I have never heard this word outside of crosswords, so sorry it’s in this one.

SUPER BOWL (10-Down: The fiftieth one was the only one not written in Roman numerals) As mentioned in the clue, all other super bowls are stylized in Roman numerals besides this one, which is ridiculous. So it goes: Super Bowl XLVIII, Super Bowl XLIX, Super Bowl 50, Super Bowl LI.

One thought on “A Garden-Variety Puzzle

Leave a comment