Themeless #1

Grid: 15×15, Difficulty: Easy-Medium

[solve online] [.puz version] [pdf version][solution]

How do I do this puzzle?

Crossword puzzle with clues

A green toad sitting on top of a lily pad but the lily pad is patterned to look like a crossword puzzle.

Constructor commentary (contains puzzle spoilers)

This was another attempt to make a puzzle that is accessible to new solvers. When I first started out solving, I often found themes confusing and/or they just completely went over my head. So, I thought it would be fun to try making an easy themeless puzzle. (Side note: while themeless puzzles in the NY Times and LA Times are quite difficult, Universal Crossword occasionally publishes themeless puzzles and they are typically on the easier side)

MOCKTAILPARTY (20-Across: Sober shindig) I wasn’t really sure how to start constructing a themeless, but I started with this answer. I first started thinking about this as a phrase to include in a puzzle when the first prompt for the Lemonade Disco crossword suite was announced to be “cocktail mixer”. I wanted to think of a theme regarding non-alcoholic drinks (since I figured most people would have alcohol related themes), but I couldn’t come up with anything I was super happy with.

BEE (43-Across: Animal that communicates with a waggle dance) A waggle dance is a cute little dance that honey bees do when they come back to the hive to let other bees know the direction and distance of a source of food.

SEGA (45-Across: “Sonic the Hedgehog” developer) My favorite Sonic game was Sonic Adventure 2. I remember very little about the main storyline because I spent much more time raising Chaos in the oddly complex Chao Garden mini game.

SNAKEBITE (4-Down: Lip piercing with a venomous sounding name) The internet seems to be divided on whether this piercing is called a “snake bite” or “snake bites”. The plural seems more common, which makes sense because it is technically two piercings. I prefer the singular though because it looks like a single snake bite, not two. A snake bite is also an alcoholic drink that is half lager (or stout) and half cider, which sounds interesting. I decided not to clue it that way though because I didn’t want an alcoholic drink crossing with mocktail party.

THECLOUD (37-Down: Modern off-site storage space) I always feel like it is weird including phrases that start with THE in puzzles. It’s not wrong, people do say “the cloud” but it always feels like it doesn’t quite fit in a crossword to me for some reason.

Leave a comment