Lilypad Mini #1

My first mini!
Grid: 7×7

[solve online] [.puz version] [pdf version][solution]

How do I do this puzzle?

Empty 7x7 crossword puzzle including clues

A green toad sitting on top of a lily pad but the lily pad is patterned to look like a crossword puzzle.

Constructor commentary (contains puzzle spoilers)

This is the first mini crossword I have ever made. Until recently, I hadn’t solved many minis but I recently decided to solve some and realized that they can be really enjoyable to solve. I naively thought it would be easy to make one, but I found it pretty difficult. I’m going to experiment a little with making minis of different size so there could be some more tiny puzzles like this of these coming soon!

Since there are so few answers, I don’t have too much specific commentary, but who doesn’t love a MANATEE (a seeded the puzzle with that word).

*General note. In case anyone is wondering why the puzzle image on the home page does not always match the puzzle of the post, that is because of some limitations with the free version of wordpress. Without upgrading my wordpress account, I can only make the image be the most recent puzzle. Sorry for the confusion.

Leave a comment